how to make prana chai
Put 20 grams of Prana Chai into a pot. Add 2 cms of hot water to kickstart the infusion process. Wait for 1 minute. Use this time to steam milk, steam to 65-70 degrees celcius with no froth. Add heated milk into your infused pot of Prana Chai. Add honey as sweetener if requested. Serve as shown in the video below. Enjoy.
Watch how it is done here.
Add 25 gr of Prana Chai to a jug. Add 2 cms of hot water to cover the product in the jug. Allow to sit 30 sec to infuse. Add your choice of plant based milk to the same jug. Steam milk to 65-70 degrees celcius with only a little amount of froth. Strain into a 12 oz takeaway cup and serve.
Please watch the video here.
Keep a 1:10 ratio of chai:milk. Example 100grams of chai to 1 litre of milk. Combine the chai and cold milk in a flask. Close the lid and put the flask in the fridge. Allow 4-5 hours of slow extraction. Ideally overnight. Separate the liquor from the chai mix with the help of a strainer. Enjoy.
Watch how it is done here.
Please watch the instructions here.
A chai is made with warm milk, a sweetener, spices, and black tea. And unless you’re getting a specific decaffeinated chai, that black tea contains caffeine. The amount of caffeine you’ll down in one cup varies, depending on a range of factors.
A regular cup can have anywhere between 20 and 100mg of caffeine, depending on how you prepare the brew. If you reduce the steeping time, you can decrease the caffeine content by 80%.
"Chai lattes" made with powders or concentrates may have less caffeine in them than those made with the spice blend. One cup of chai from the powdered form has 25 to 55mg of caffeine while in the concentrate, it’s more likely to be 30 to 35mg.
Compare that to roughly 120mg in your average cup of coffee and it’s obvious that if you want to be a lively bag of beans, you’ll probably want to stick to those, well, coffee beans.
But it’s not as simple as that. In chai, caffeine interacts with tannin in the tea, and tannin helps to calm the nervous system. It’s a substance that helps your body absorb caffeine much more slowly, so you can get into a calm, focused state without the hyperactivity you get with coffee. How can you pass up on that?
Yes, we have recently changed our branding and the good old agave became vegan blend. It contains pure natural agave instead of honey in it so it is suitable for your vegan customers.
Most chais are made from a black tea base. And traditional black tea comes from the leaves of the Camellia sinensis plant. Gluten content = zilch.
So hot or cold tea made from tea bags or loose leaf blends should generally be gluten free, as long as they haven’t been cross contaminated in the processing stage.
Emphasis on the “should”. Come on now … you didn’t think the answer would be that straightforward?
For a start, not all teas are made from Camillia sinensis. Some are made from tea leaves that contain gluten or have added gluten ingredients.
Some teas - herbal teas especially - contain barley malt as a sweetener, while others have roasted barley in the ingredients. Even the tea bags themselves can be a treacherous grey zone; some are sealed with a wheat paste.
And let’s not forget the milk you’ll add to your cup of chai. Some soy milks, for example, have barley malt in their ingredients.
So how do you know whether you’re drinking the good stuff? If you’re a coeliac or gluten intolerant, it’s always a good idea to check the ingredients before you down your brew.
Rest assured, our Prana Chai blends are safe for your consumption. Our Original Masala Blend is prepared in a safe environment and contains only natural spices, black tea, and a dash of honey.
Chai is a deliciously sweet and spicy brew made with black tea, aromatic spices, and milk. Originally from India, this irresistible concoction has swept across the world to become a fierce rival of coffees and hot chocolates.
Is chai a tea? Yes! That's why its a bit of a bug bear of ours when people call it "chai tea" because Chai actually just means tea in Hindi - so calling it chai tea is literally just saying "tea tea".
When you hear people talking about chai, they’re typically referring to masala chai, which is the spiced, milky tea you’ve come to know and love.
Instead of being brewed with water like normal tea, chai is generally brewed with warm milk, and then sweetened to taste.
Some like to serve chai like a cafe latte and call it a "chai latte" with a decent layer of froth and cinnamon dusting. Don’t get confused here - there is no coffee in the brew. It’s still a tea.
What is Prana Chai? Masala chai is generally a mix of black tea with spices, milk, and a sweetener. The most common spices include cardamom (which gives chai tea its boldest, most fragrant tone), cinnamon, ginger, and cloves for a musky flavour.
Additional spices can include bay leaves, peppercorn, star anise, turmeric, vanilla, fennel - or whatever you feel like experimenting with (at your own risk, of course)!
With our Prana Chai Original Masala Blend, you’ll find 100% black ceylon tea, cardamom, cinnamon to add sweetness and warmth, peppercorns for a bit of kick, ginger for fresh tanginess, and star anise to add a dark licorice flavour.
Chai is usually steeped in warm milk. In India, it’s traditionally buffalo milk. But since we don’t swing that way, we’re more inclined to have it with cow’s milk. Soy, almond, rice, and coconut milk make great alternatives too.
And who doesn’t love a touch of sweetness? Sugar or honey is typically added to a chai tea during preparation. Prana Chai makes it even easier for you - honey is included in our blends to add an instant sweet note.
Of course, there are plenty of alternatives to these options - you could add coconut sugar or jaggery. Our Vegan Blend is made with agave syrup instead of honey.
And of course, it’s all about sweetening that heavenly brew to your tastes. We won’t judge if you want to add dollops more honey.
You can also get chai as tea bags, powders, and concentrates, but nothing beats the real thing.